Paris est magnifique – Part Two

The past two week were really hectic!! It took me forever to write part two of my trip *Sobs and asks for forgiveness*
If you haven’t read part one, you can read it here 🙂

After our lunch at KONG we continued our adventure and headed toward Trocadéro. We were so lucky with the weather!!! The weather was super gorgeous! Beside Friday we only had a lot of sunshine in Paris.
This was in fact my first time at Trocadéro. We went there instead, cuz it was crazily busy at Eiffel Tower! And it was actually much nicer to sit in the gardens of Trocadéro.

Beautiful Garden and Weather!
Beautiful Garden and Weather!

And there was a blue blue sky!!

❤ taking pictures of the sky 🙂

And we were captivated by the beautiful view!

:D
😀

And the most important part!! People went crazy went they turned on the sprinklers in the fountain. I secretly went crazy as well!!

WOOOT!
WOOOT!

We didn’t do much xD We just chilled and enjoyed the sun until it was time for our diner.

For diner we really wanted to …….. *Drum rolls* …… Ciel de Paris!
I’ve actually read a lot of review about it and most of them were really positief. Not to mention the beautiful view you’ll have!!
Luckily for us, M already made a reservation. The waiting time was actually one hour!! You can find Ciel the Paris in the Tour Montparnasse on the 56th floor. It provides your with an amazing view during your diner! As for the menu, you could pick a la carte or a menu. If you want to have a table next to the window, you’ll have to take the Gran Ecran Menu, which is 60 euro more expensive compared to the regulair menu. The menu is exactly the same, you’re just secured with a window seat. In the end we’ve decided to take the Menu Balcon. We were not really sitting too far away from the windows actually.

We started off with an amuse, which was a light cream cheese. Honestly I was thinking to myself , where did the bread go!! The cream cheese was light and creamy. It tasted nice by itself too!

Amuse
Amuse

For our starters, I’ve picked their lobster soup flavored with some sea urchin. I couldn’t finished the whole plate, but it was really yum! The soup had really strong flavors and there were small chunks of lobster meat in it and that was sooo good! The starters were both served with some bread, so it was really nice to dip the bread in the soup! M kept asking to dip some bread in the soup for her 😛

Homard
Homard

M went for the smoked salmon with a crispy vegetable salad and with dill cream flavored with fish eggs. I really liked her colorful dish! I didn’t tried hers, but she told me it was really good! Especially the cream together with the salmon!

CŒur de Salmon Fume
CŒur de Salmon Fume

We arrived at the restaurant before the sunset and the sun went down while we were eating!! And it looked spectaculair!! It was soo beautiful!

Just before sunset!!
Just before sunset!!

This is a picture I took with my phone!! Obviously not as detailed as my camera does, but I love how it fades toward the Eiffel tower and the contrast between the with building and the little lights.

Streets of Paris!
Streets of Paris!

By the time we got to our mains, the sun already started to set. Off course we had to have a toast 🙂

champagne for M and wine for me :)
champagne for M and wine for me 🙂

For our mains, I’ve had chosen the gilt-headed bream with crushed ratte potatoes and vegetable salad. I really liked the bream and the vegetables, but the potatoes were a little bit too heavy for my taste. I loved the purple potatoes chips though 😀

Daurade Royale
Daurade Royale

M had chosen for the cod fish with meuniere style leeks, shell sauce and seaweed tartar. Her cod fish was cooked really well!! And I loved the leeks!! I’m totally not a leek kind of person, but that was yum!

Dos de Cabbilaud
Dos de Cabbilaud

To be honest, they were serving everything quite fast (or we were just eating really fast!). So we asked them to wait for our desserts and I took some pictures again. By the time we finished our mains, the sun went down completely and you could see all the lights in the streets of Paris!

During sunset
During sunset
Paris by night :)
Paris by night 🙂

*Sigh*

And we moved on to desserts!! Desserts has always been my favored part of a diner! I even asked if should order a second dessert from their a la carte menu :P. Luckily we didn’t, cuz we were stuffed afterwards!

For desserts I had chosen the fresh fruit salad with a basil sorbet. Ever since I had had basil sorbet at a restaurant in Rotterdam, I always order it whenever I see it. I love it soo much! This too was really nice!! The sorbet kinda balanced the sweetness of the fruits and gave it a much fresher tast to it. I would go back for it anytime if I could! Yes! I’m a-shameless-dessert kind of person :D.

Minestrone des Fruits Frais
Minestrone des Fruits Frais

M opted for the Chocolate surprise for her dessert and It was a surprise indeed! Her dessert was served as a chocolate ball and it was super cute. When you opened it up, there was chocolate and caramel mousse inside. This too was yum! It was a little bit too heavy for my liking, maybe because of the potatoes I had earlier, but M totally liked it!

Le Coque Surprise
Le Coque Surprise
Tadummm!
Tadummm!

We were totally satisfied afterwards! The food was nice and the service was great. Not too much, but just enough attention. It was definitely worth the effort compared to KONG (read all about it here). It is pricey, but acceptable. I would love to go back with my mom! For her birthday or just for an other special occasion. Not forget to mention the wonderful view!! It’s one of the things that made me fall in love with Paris. Then again I’m easily satisfied with good food :3

The next day we had a couple of hours before we would drive back home. So we decided to take on the streets of Paris with a bike 😀 We actually saw them all over the place, so it was really easy to find one ^^

:D
😀

We got our bikes near Arc du Triomphe and cycled toward Place de La Concorde and hell yeah it was a bumpy ride!! The roads are bumpy for sure! Make sure to watch the traffic carefully! It was nice to cycle though!

:)
I’m so short! Haha
2014-05-04 15.09.58
Place de La Concorde

As you can see the weather was really good on that day too 😀 It was fun to cycle, but OMG we had such a hard time to find a empty parking space to put the bikes back!! We planned to cycle to Place de La Concorde and to put the bikes back, so we could go and some banh mi (vietnamese baguettes) before we head home. Sadly we couldn’t 😦 it took us more than an hour until we finally found a spot to park our bikes and we were pretty far away from were we had to be ^^”. So we just left Paris without banh mi TT^TT.

During our ride back, I noticed all these yellow flowers and I’m guessing it to be rapeseed flowers? Not really sure though, but it looked really nice!

2014-05-04 18.00.50
rapeseed flowers?

Paris, I had such a good time. Too bad about the banh mi, but a great excuse to come back again! Au revoir until we meet again 🙂

xoxo

Leave a comment